I Dare You: Book Tag

As a book-lover, I go through a lot of books, which also means that I have a lot of books on my shelf; books that I’m not a fan of, and books that I still haven’t read yet. I’m not sure why this is called the “I Dare You” book tag, but I found it and I thought it would be fun to do it!

Processed with VSCO with m5 preset

1. What book has been on your shelf the longest?

I’m pretty sure it’s either My Friend Flicka or Bluestar’s Prophecy… I’ve had them since the beginning of grade 7 and I don’t plan on taking them off my shelf anytime soon.

2. What is your current read, your last read, and the book you’ll read next?

I’m currently reading Half The Sky: Turning Oppression Into Opportunity For Women Worldwide by Nicholas Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn and I am loving it! The last book I read was How To Be A Bawse by Lilly Singh, which was fantastic and I highly recommend it if you need some good motivation and inspiration sprinkled with comedy. I plan on reading An Ember In The Ashes by Sabaa Tahir next, but that could change!

3. What book did everyone like, but you hated?

The Maze Runner by James Dashner… I really did not like that book.

4. What book do you keep telling yourself you’ll read, but you probably won’t?

I feel like everyone tells me to read the series by Cassandra Clare and I keep hearing great things about them, but I’m really not interested in that kind of stuff (paranormal).

5. What book are you saving for retirement?

The Lord of the Rings and probably Game of Thrones, I do not have time to read those beasts yet.

6. Last page: read it first, or wait ’til the end?

The only reason I would go to the last page is to see how many pages are in the book. #nospoilers.

7. Acknowledgment: waste of paper and ink, or interesting aside?

I think the acknowledgments are extremely important, especially since they’re important to the author. If you had the opportunity to thank the people who helped you complete a huge project, wouldn’t you want everyone to know who helped you and how amazing they are?

8. Which book character would you switch places with?

These two are technically book characters since there are multiple books with them in it but REY AND JYN! (Star Wars: The Force Awakens and Rogue One: A Star Wars Story)

9. Do you have a book that reminds you of something specific in your life? (Place, time, person?)

Whenever I read All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven I am always reminded of the people and the places that are special to me. Also, Bluestar’s Prophecy is the reason I got into reading, so that book always reminds me of where I started and how far I’ve come.

10. Name a book that you acquired in an interesting way.

I bought Daphne Sheldrick’s book An African Love Story right after I played with the elephants her organization has rescued in Kenya, which was right after I adopted one of the elephants!

11. Have you ever given a book away for a special reason to a special person?

Not yet!

12. Which book has been with you most places?

Probably All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven… again… I re-read it twice and I also brought it with me to the British Virgin Islands a few years ago.

13. Any “required reading” you hated in high school that wasn’t so bad two years later?

Animal Farm by George Orwell, a surprisingly interesting read.

14. Used or brand new? Why not both?

I don’t care how you read, I care that you read.

15. Have you ever read a Dan Brown book?

Nooooope! I probably won’t in the future, but no one can be sure, can they?

16. Have you ever seen a movie you liked more than the book?

Both Mockingjay movies were better than the book, by far.

17. Have you ever read a book that’s made you hungry, cookbooks included?

…. No?

18. Who is the person whose book advice you’ll always take?

I will always take book advice from Sarah Cuddie (a great friend of mine), her and I have similar taste in books and I’ve read a few that she has recommended to me over the past few years and they have all been incredible.

19. Is there a book out of your comfort zone (e.g., outside your usual reading genre) that you ended up loving?

I read The Name of the Star for a book club that my friend and co-worker, Bethany started up at our work last year. It was a mystery/paranormal YA book, I was wasn’t sure if I would like it. But BOY OH BOY did it ever surprise me, I really enjoyed it!


And that is the end of the tag! If anyone wants to do it, feel free, it’s not mine (I’m not sure who started it either, but if I find out who it was later, I’ll be sure to give them credit!

