Shedding Masks

IMG_3346

It’s been 5 days since I was last at camp. I lived there for 6 days with 76 of the most amazing people. I was very lucky to have been accepted into that leadership program through Me To We at St. FX University in Antigonish. To say that I had a great time, would be an understatement. Words cannot express how grateful I am to have had the honour of attending this program. The feeling of family that I experienced there was unlike anything I’ve ever felt.

IMG_3337
#Xleads!

During my time at camp, I’ve felt all of the feels. I’ve laughed so hard my face began to hurt, I’ve sang my heart out that my voice is still gone and I’ve cried so much that my head ached for hours. The amount of self discovery that I experienced was immense. I am also extremely grateful to have heard my friends’ stories and how it has effected them or how they’ve grown.

The leadership skills that I have learned will stay with me for the rest of my life. From speaking skills to self actualization skills, I will use them every day and never forget.

We also received a lot of information about the university itself. We went of a lovely tour (although it was really hot), witnessed different workshops and had a Q&A with the staff of St. FX! It truly is a beautiful campus and wonderful school, I just wish it was closer to where I live…

I also reunited with Addy (theartsyactivist) while I was there! It was heartwarming to spend more time with her.

Pre talent show selfie with Addy!
Pre talent show selfie with Addy!

In just 4 weeks, we will be together again at Take Action Camp in Bethany, Ontario! I will be part of the LIT (Leaders In Training) program and she will be part of the Arts and Activism stream once again! I can’t wait to share those stories with all of you.

My other amazing facilitator, Gill!
One of my amazing facilitators, Gill!
One of my amazing facilitators, Chris!
My other amazing facilitator, Chris!
Leave a Reply

